Skip to content

Getting Started…

November 8, 2011
 

 

Exercising and taking care of yourself can boost your confidence!

Whether you want to start an exercise or a diet plan… or both, getting started, is usually the hardest part. 

It’s finding what in your heart, mind, or your soul is going to do that for YOU. 

 That was the question I asked myself,  practically everyday. 

You start wondering what it will be that is going to motivate you to really do it this time.  It can drive you crazy!.  That one moment when you know it’s time. You hear people talk about it and wonder

“When will it be…. my time?”.   “Will that EVER be me?”

You can start to wonder if you will ever find that one thing, or if that moment, will ever find you.

 I have always called that moment  “the click”.   For me, you can say it was  a “shift” in the way I thought and felt about eating and exercising, and it was …. but mostly…..It was a change in my heart, my soul.   

  I think THIS, can be the hardest part of losing weight and or getting into shape. Finding that ONE thing… that shakes you up! that moves you… to move!

Ah…. that one thing.   I waited my whole life for that… ONE thing…..   The something that would “click” with me,  shake ME up, change my life and give me that PUSH to “get started” and successfully follow through with a diet and exercise plan that would not fizzle out in 3 or 4 months. 

Because come on, be honest,  how many  times have we ALL started a new diet and exercise plan… or just a diet…. and failed?….. (Don’t you hate that?)  You get all excited,  put down the money, maybe join a group  like Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig  etc.   or maybe,  have decided to do it on your own….You’ve bought the food,  and tell yourself..

“I can do this!”

Then by the end of the first, say month or so,  you’re already disappointed that you haven’t lost what you thought you would…… maybe not as FAST as you hoped….   OR, you haven’t had the time to exercise……  OR, the same foods or LACK of your favorite ones, maybe that chocolate cake?….. Is  REALLY getting on your nerves!. lol   

So you give up.   Again……one….. more …..time…….

"I only lost one pound?!"

Telling yourself “next time will be different”.  Yet maybe, knowing in your heart …..it probably will happen again .  After all, this isn’t the first time..  You are an expert at this by now …right?  

Like you, I did  this over and over and over all my life..  Each time it failed I got more and more disappointed in myself,  my lack of discipline, willpower and determination for this stuff. It can be draining on your self confidence.   

Yes, I’ve  been there…

 

But I’m DONE…..DONE……DONE……Period.

END…. of story. 

    

 

 

 

In my case…. It was  the  beginining……… Of everything.

No, I’m NOT  an expert in losing weight, a Nutritionist, or have all the answers to what YOU need. But I have been doing this for three years  now, Eating healthy and exercising  everyday and  successfully (Thank God),  and I have learned a few things from living that healthy lifestyle  everyday and a lot from my friends, some who are Trainers and Nutritionists.  Some… are even both.

 

Some people call it “hard work”….   It can be that and I think in a lot of cases it can be all hard work.

For me,  this time though,  it was fun and continues… to be fun.

 This is who I am now.            (I STILL find that remarkable btw lol)

Now, I would LOVE to maybe help others find it this way too… Fun!

 I am almost to the place I have dreamed of my whole life and I have now started working on finally reaching that end goal. I’m in good shape,  lost the weight and now finally after waiting for a long time  I’m working on getting to the place I hope to feel “finished” with that part of this…the first part…. …( a later post )  🙂

 Well I told you what I’m NOT….  a Trainer– Nutritionist- diet Guru.

What I am….is…       

 A girl who lost 120 lbs.  🙂

 “How did you do it?”

 That’s the million dollar question right?  It’s THE question people ask me  when they find out I lost weight. When they find out I have lost

 (((120 lbs.)))

 It’s a fair question,   just not one that can be answered in one quick reply. It’s not something you do… and it ends.  Eating healthy and exercising is a choice you make everyday ..  That’s where the blog title came from… 

Because we are all…………. “A Work in Progress”.

I’m not the only person out there who has done it either! just one who has decided to do a blog  🙂  I won’t be blogging about anything  I haven’t researched and looked into or that aren’t from my own experiences and have worked for me. I wouldn’t suggest anything I didn’t believe in and know was true.  I have a good blog Mentor 😉

It’s very important for me to say this…

 I know more than a few amazing people who are incredible examples to me everyday!  People who inspire me when I need it as well.

(Btw, high five’s to ALL those who HAVE lost a lot of weight!, any weight, ever.)

 But even those who have possibly have achieved that  goal can use a pat on the back or  hear “you can do it!” once in a while….I don’t anyone who has ever does this completely alone. You can always look back and remember someone from the Trainers and Nutritionists who got you there to the girl who simply told you “You look amazing!” On one of the days that you were feeling you weren’t and gave you the boost you needed to keep going and finish that last mile on the treadmill.

I hope this blog will be for everyone!.  Those  maybe looking for the motivaiton, willpower and discipline to start, maybe those in the middle of achieving their goals whether it be getting in shape, losing weight or both,  those getting back into shape and maybe those who are almost to where they feel they want to be, even those who are!.  I hope this blog can help everyone!. 

I want to blog about  exercise, making healthy choices in your diet, Friends and Family too because they are your support system.

I hope to blog about a lot of things.  This is a personal development/ motivational/ blog that will focus a good deal on health and  fitness.. With blogs about everyday concerns as well from time to time because it ALL affects the place good health has to start… In your heart, mind  and soul. 

 

 As a little girl and a teen I was teased, I was quiet and shy.   As an adult I was overweight  and felt that was the way it was going to be.  So I DO understand a lot of what more than a few of you out there are going through,  have felt, maybe still feel.  Even though you can feel at the time you are the only one or alone…….

You’re not.

  I was a chubby kid, an overweight teen and I was an overweight adult.

 

NOT ANYMORE.

 

Now I am in shape, and proud to say that. I can… Finally.  But  I’m  ALWAYS  striving to be even  faster, stronger and in even better shape!.  I feel there is always room for improvement! 

 One thing I do know for sure is that this is a Blessing. One I give thanks for everyday and fight everyday to keep!  Doing this blog is a way for me to give  hopefully give back at least little of what I have received….  What I  continue to receive everyday. 

The challenge of it is part of what makes it fun for me and I would like to share that feeling with others as well. 

 

“Success isn’t something that just happens-  success is learned, success is practiced and then it’s shared.”

 

My Goal in doing this blog is to help even just ONE person out there. I want to share the success I have had,  if I can help in some small way, someone else get to the place where they feel good about themselves,  then this blog will be a success! ….I hope to be posting a new blog once a week  (I’m new at this lol ) at least one to start.

You can NEVER  stop trying to reach your goals and dreams because you NEVER know just how CLOSE you might be to them…. Maybe all you have to do is…

 Get started.   🙂

 

This is a great new motivational blog by a friend.   Please check out  www.iwouldcoach.com I read it all the time and the blogger is caring, very smart, and knowledgeable  and always anxious to help everyone !  🙂

You can also Follow me on Facebook as well!  😉http://Facebook.com/ColleenFKelly

 Hey, leave a comment on what you might like to see in this blog or might like to hear about !   ..I would love to know!    🙂

Thanks !   🙂

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Linette Joshi permalink
    November 9, 2011 12:04 AM

    Way to go Colleen!

    • November 9, 2011 1:37 AM

      Thanks Linette ! I’m so Happy you saw it ! you made my day 😉 I post a new one next Monday, come see it let me know what you think 🙂 you opinion means a lot !

  2. Prentiss permalink
    November 10, 2011 1:23 AM

    Awesome job Colleen! You’re good at motivating 😉 Had a workout and a walk tonight! Lol

    • November 10, 2011 3:25 AM

      Teri, Gee thanks ! You are so great to take the time to check the blog out ! Very cool 🙂 means a lot !

  3. Louise Elsholz permalink
    November 11, 2011 2:25 PM

    Great job, Colleen! I think you found your calling! I’m sure anyone who reads your blog will be motivated and inspired!

    • November 12, 2011 3:11 AM

      OMG Louise ! Thank you for checking it out ! I’m honored you guys took time too! 🙂 posting again tonight!

  4. November 19, 2011 7:25 PM

    Just dropped by Colleen to show you that I really did read and enjoy your new blog. I’m sure our mutual pal Danny is very proud of you. Keep up the fine work.

    • November 20, 2011 9:14 AM

      Mr. Granda,

      Gee, I so appreciate you reading my blog ! Wow! I’m smiling thinking someone who reads Dan’s blog has read mine! WOW.. Now THATS a compliment ! That Dan could be proud of me, I know my Birthday is on Thanksgiving, so THAT would be THE best gift !.. Have a great day !! Thanks again.. hey come back again! lol Have a Wonderful Holiday !

  5. November 29, 2011 4:04 PM

    Great job motivating others to prevent chronic disease. Cardiac rehabilitation programs can use your motivating tips. Keep up the great work on getting people active. It is the best medicine.

    • November 29, 2011 6:55 PM

      Thank you for contributing! I so appreciate you reading the blog ! you’re right, it is the best medicine. Just not one easy for all of us to want to take 🙂 Have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

