Skip to content

3 Easy, healthy recipes to celebrate with on New Year’s!

December 30, 2011

Happy New Year! Will you start it off right?

 Happy New Year’s guys!  🙂

I have a 3 part series of posts coming up starting this week!   This post is a special post I wanted to do before the New Year to help you celebrate a healthy New Year’s!

 I have 3 recipes for your New Year’s Eve and or New Year’s Day and I want to share them with you so you can eat, enjoy and do it healthy ! .

 

Moms and Traditions

My Mom at this time of year always made her own litte apetizers along with other Hors’ ord’oeuvres (weird, the correct spelling of that word lol)  you see in the freezer section of your local Supermarket.   Holy Cow were they good !  She would get those and a few other things that became tradition at New Year’s Eve in our home.  She would also make a shrimp and cream cheese dip that I swear you would just die for.  Wow!. 

Times can change things..

Everything Mom made was “Deliciousness”!

(Is that a word?) ……Well,  it should be!.

I want you guys to share in the fun of a New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day festivities with a few great Healthy Alternatives to those possibly which can be high in calorie and fat. (Sorry Mom)  … Even though they were so good!. I promise you will feel better about partying with my recipes instead !.

I got all my nutritional information from the site   www.calorieking.com  and I suggest you go there and check it out it’s a very user-friendly site that is free!!.   I use it just about everyday.

Remember this New Year you will always be worth the time it takes for better nutrition!.

Peanut Butter Apple Wedges

2 medium Apples washed and sliced into 12 wedges.   (Skin left on if desired.)

2 Tbls  Low fat Peanut Butter (I use Smucker’s or “Better than Peanut butter” this one is  the lowest in fat and calories)

1/2 cup of natural almonds chopped fine and placed in a dish.

 Spread a little peanut butter on both sides of each apple wedge, take a pinch of the chopped nuts and sprinkle a dusting over the apple wedges then place on a plate for serving. Continue to do this with all 12 slices.  Then arrange on a platter that you would like to use.

Calories for 3 apple wedges should be approx.  140 calories

 

 

Low-fat Cream Cheese Celery Stalks      

6 stalks of Celery washed and cut in halves

1 pkg. of No-fat cream cheese (softened)

1/2 cup chopped  black olives

1 Tbls. chopped Parsley 

1 Tbls. chopped scallions (The entire scallion, green and scallion bulb)

Take the 8 oz. package of softened cream cheese , (it should be soft enough to mix the other ingredients into it.)

Put the cream cheese  in a bowl with the chopped Parsley, scallions, and chopped black olives and mix all ingredients together in bowl. When well combined, with a butter knife spread desired amount of the cream cheese mixture into the middle of each celery stalk.   place each stalk on a serving platter and arrange as you wish. If you like you can sprinkle each stalk with more parsley for that… pretty effect 🙂

One stalk will be about 70 calories if you are using approx. 2 Tbls cream cheese mixture for each stalk.

                                                                                       

Please celebrate responsibly. You.. are important.

 

Fast and Easy Hearty Chicken Pasta Dip   ……… (ala.. Gymgirl or..Colleen) (wink)

2  4 oz.  chicken breast, no skin!  boiled and cooked.

1 package of Amy’s light and lean Spinach lasagna baked and ready (after baked, leave in baking container.    (Set aside to cool)

2 cups of a low calorie tomato sauce.  I like (Muir Glen Organic Portobello Mushroom)

1 cup No- fat sour cream

1/2 cup Ketchup, (trust me)  I use a store brand Organic Ketchup because the flavor is just that much better.  Not much more expensive and so worth it!.

2 tbls.   1/3 less fat Kraft parmesan cheese.

While chicken is still warm dice into very small pieces.  Put into large bowl big enough to fit all of the  ingredients.  Take the tomato sauce, sour cream, parmesan cheese and combine all together.  Take Amy’s Light and Lean Spinach Lasagna and place on a plate.  Cut the lasagna into tiny pieces and add to the bowl with the other ingredients. Mix well.   When it is all mixed together remove from that bowl and place into your serving bowl.  If desired,  you can  melt a piece of Low-fat Lorraine swiss on top.  (Any low-fat cheese will be an alright substitute)

I would serve this with a corn chip or perhaps serve on toast squares, or a cracker.

1/2 cup of this dip without corn chips, toast square or cracker is approx. 135 calories (not counting the possible low-fat cheese on top) The calories of whatever you choose to serve  your dip with will be different, just add extra calories according to the nutritional information given on whatever food you choose…  Corn chips, bread, etc.   Or the cheese on top.

My last thoughts for 2011

It’s been a year of ups and downs.  But One thing I have been able to count on is Love, Friendship and Family. My Faith is always my foundation and I can honestly say has been tested this year as only one time before in my life. When I lost my Mom.  it’s been a rough one for me.   Personal stuff .  This blog has been an amazing and surprizing development for me.  I am proud to tell my story and share whatever I have learned in the past 3 years, really, in my life so far, with all of you.  I want to thank the readers I have, I want to personally thank the readers who have taken the time to come back more than once.  It means a lot!.

Thank you guys….. It’s an honor to write for you.

I hope to do even better in the coming New Year.  I promise to do my best to write the best blog I can and to really do even better in the coming New Year!.

I hope you try one or all of these For your New Year’s celebration.  Whatever you do choose to do,  please be safe and have a wonderful New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day!.

Thank you all again for coming to my blog.. You make it fun and as I said…..It’s an honor.

My honor.

Like "The King" said ..."Thank you, thank you very much" 🙂

 

If you would like to follow me on Twitter (top of this blog).  I would love to have to follow me on Facebook as well! www.Facebook.com/ColleenFKelly

If you have any comments I would like to hear them as always…just leave one below !

Thanks !

One more reminder….. www.iwouldcoach.com is a really wonderful website where you will find  honest, smart, intelligent conversation. The blogger’s name is Dan Gheesling.   An honest, smart, and kind person .   Please check it out.  You will be glad you took the time!.  🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

