Skip to content

So, what “pesticides” are you having for dinner tonight? “The dirty Dozen”- “The clean 15”

January 21, 2012

 

 

Do you KNOW, what you are REALLY eating?

 

 

 

 

 

When I was starting out to do research for my blog this week I was going to do a post on the top questions about organic foods because I thought I bet you are like me in that you don’t know a lot about organic foods and would like to know the basics to start with anyway.  That post will be coming.. But I ran into this and I wanted  you to know this information..  Now… 

 

Methyl Bromide…..

Can kill you and you might be eating it….. Everyday!.

I WAS……….Until now.

 

 What is …..Methyl Bromide? —-Well, do you ever eat strawberries?,  do you buy Organic strawberries? ..You will from now on…

 

The threats you can’t see

 

Methyl bromide  is a pesticide that is mainly used on strawberry plantations.  It has a very high level of toxicity.  The effects of extreme exposure to this pesticide can be fatal.    It can be absorbed though your skin or it may be inhaled.  It can cause severe chemical burns on the eyes, skin, and airways.  It can do devastating damage your lungs, kidneys, and your central nervous system.  This pesticide also is depleting our ozone layer.

When and if you buy strawberries you might be able to see on the label if they are Methyl Bromide free.  So please check !    My advice?   buy organic. 

Hey buddy!, do I need a suit to EAT those strawberries?

Getting your attention

I wanted to do that right off the bat here.  Get your attention!!    Did it work?

In doing research for this post I learned a lot of statistics and facts I didn’t know…Some facts were good news like this.

According to The Environmental Working Group (an organization of scientists, researchers and policymakers) certain types of organic produce can reduce the amount of toxins you consume on a daily basis by as much as 80 percent!.  

 

80 percent !  Some Good news!.  Especially for those of us trying to eat MORE fruits and vegetables and  for vegetarians and those who just like to try eat a good amount of them already everyday and that includes your favorite blogger.  🙂

The EWG’s Most wanted list

I am sure you are just like me.  I want to know what I’m eating and I want to eat healthy foods not foods soaked in toxins. 

I wonder if HE, eats this food. Hmmmmm

 

 Knowledge…. is power

I wanted to give you a list called The Dirty Dozen.”  This is a list was recently compiled by The EWG .    The website is http://www.ewg.org/  I suggest you go there and check it out. It’s an interesting and informative site that is now in my favorites on my computer!.

Unless you like the idea of consuming a lot of toxic pesticides take a look at this list and take it with you the next time you go shopping for  fruits and vegetables. 

I give you…

The Dirty Dozen

1.  Apples  

2.  Celery   

3.   Strawberries (not a big surprise after reading that article)   

4.  Peaches   

5.  Spinach   

6.  Nectarines – IMPORTED   

7.  Grapes – IMPORTED  

8.  Sweet bell peppers 

9.  Potatoes

10.  Blueberries – DOMESTIC

11.  Kale – Collard greens.

12. Lettuce

This List is called “The clean 15” and is a list of the fruits and vegetables that had little or no traces of pesticides that according to the EWG  IS safe to consume in Non – Organic form.

1. Onions

2.  Avocados

3.  Sweet Corn

4.  Pineapples

5.  Mango

6.  Sweet peas

7.  Asparagus

8.  Kiwi fruit

9. Cabbage

10.  Eggplant

11.  Cantaloupe -DOMESTIC

12.  Watermelon

13.  Grapefruit

14.  Sweet Potatoes

15.  Sweet Onions

Now I only buy Organic Strawberries.

 I’m sure you are just like me.  I want to know what I’m eating and I want to eat healthy foods not foods soaked in toxins and wind up eating a cocktail of pesticides each week in my favorite foods.

The truth is

 I know it can be expensive and I know maybe you think  “I don’t really eat enough fruits and vegetables” But when is a little pesticide…. good to eat? 

 Is there something in your shopping cart you can part with this week to afford that Organic lettuce?.  You have to decide of course for yourself.     I am on a budget like you I’m sure.   So I DO understand.    I do look at my cart each week and “juggle” things.  Meaning I ask myself what is more important..  Or “what can I afford this week,  organic tomatoes or organic strawberries?”.   I have been known to put back something to be able to buy another.  When I have chosen to do that though, I usually have something that maybe I really don’t need.   Like 10 different kinds of trail mix!.  (not really)  but you get the picture right?.

Tough questions

I think it’s going to be a question we are all going to have to start asking ourselves or continue to get a concoction of pesticides each week in our favorite foods that somewhere down the road,  we’re going to see some results that we aren’t going to like.

Better health starts with you and it’s a tough decision at times.  I know.  But for you and your Family I hope you take this list with you the next time you go to the store and see the food you are eating with a more educated eye and make a few different choices.  I realize it can be pricy and it’s not just up to us.  It has to start to change.  I am going to continue to learn more.  I want to be educated about this subject .  Knowledge is power and I think we all have to decide we are worth really knowing what we are eating.  We have to do what we can and do our best to be safe.  Washing vegetables and fruits is always a smart thing to do before eating.  It does remove some but not a lot. I thought it did.  Like I said, knowledge is power. Well I now know that as well.  I want to know more.  I hope I have prompted you to want to know more too!.  I think it’s when we ALL start asking questions, the big questions,  like “why?” and “why not?”  instead of just taking excepting what’s in front of us….

That’s when things can change..

I have some!

The good news is……

 

 Some growers are trying to find alternatives to this pesticide though…Hopefully, more and more growers will do the same.

(This is a link to a story on how some growers in Santa Cruz California are choosing alternatives to Methyl Bromide!)

http://www.mercurynews.com/science/ci_19642571

 Thank for reading the blog this week! 

I always appreciate your support !

And so you know you can now actually see my face, on Facebook!.. If you were wondering …Yes, I really do exist!   I’m on my page!

O would love to have you follow me on Facebook too!  www.Facebook.com/ColleenFKelly

Love to have you visit me on the blog Facebook fan page!  http://www.facebook.com/pages/A-Work-in-Progress/164024550360921

And you can always follow me on Twitter!  Just hit the “follow” button on the top of this page!

Thanks!

www.iwouldcoach.com Is a site I promote faithfully… I am a blogger, because of Dan Gheesling , the blogger of this site… and it means  a lot to me, it’s my way of  saying “thank you” to him and his site is fantastic!.

I will be making some changes soon to this blog and promoting more of my favorite blogs!.   A new change I feel is a great one!   Stay tuned!

If you have a comment about organic foods, the list or maybe a good tip about buying organic foods on a budget please,  leave a comment!   It might help another person as well to read your idea’s !

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2012 4:14 AM

    Great information here (and pretty scary). I agree with your recommendation to eat organic whenever you can. Of course the absoluted best food is food you grow yourself. No matter where you live you can grow at least some of your own food, even if it is only a salad garden in containers in an apartment window.

    • January 25, 2012 6:02 AM

      Hi Tony,

      Gee thanks for taking a look at the blog!. You’re right about eating organic. I try as much as possible. We used to have a garden here at my home a while back It was the best thing to go out pick the lettuce come in the house and use it on a sandwhich..I LOVED it so much. But we didn’t get enough sunlight really. What we did get out of it was fantastic !
      Thanks for leaving a comment I hope to see you here again ! I have to check out your blog as well! Have a great week! 😉

  2. January 24, 2012 3:17 AM

    Okay, don’t shoot me Colleen but I haven’t bought fresh fruit or vegetables in quite some time now. The last thing I bought were bananas. I know, I’m horrible. But I only go to the grocery store maybe once a month, twice at the most so I’m sure you know how long fresh fruit and vegetables last. Plus, they are so expensive these days.

    I eat a lot of sandwiches and frozen dinners. I’m on a very strict budget plus I enjoy them. I’ve been eating these for years and I guess it also helps me keep my weight down. Whatever works right!

    But I have heard stories about the pesticides so when I do purchase any fresh foods I always make sure to wash them really well when I get home. So far so good I guess.

    Great post and extremely informational on this topic. Thanks so much for sharing this with us.

  3. January 25, 2012 4:01 AM

    Hi Adrienne!

    No, you’re not horrible lol. We all just need to get a balanced diet going. I listen to you and I think you’re on the right track. It’s all just being balanced. So much is isn’t it?
    My brother Mike eats Lean Quisine all the time he’s lost over 140 lbs. You just have as you know, look for good frozen food choices. You walk too! Hey like I have said I lost 40 lbs that way, never under estimate walking!.. I never will!..lol
    I know fruits and vegetable are way over priced today it makes me mad.. I sometimes wonder how many of us would be healthier if things weren’t so exspensive.
    I wash everything throughly myself. All you can do is your best right?..
    Remember you can always buy frozen vegetables and fruit as well! If it’s easier for you to have in your freezer ! just to have the vitamins and nutrients you get from vegtables as well as fruit. You can get fruits and vegees from other different healthy sources OJ for one!. So if you don’t go get fresh ones there are other sources available. Getting more Vitamin “C” and today vitamin “D” is so important and becoming very much “in the news” and is more and more one we ALL need more of.
    Am I trying to get you to eat more vegees and fruit? Of course ! That’s my job here!…Get everyone to eat healthy…..and if you are ….then eat health-ier !
    always striving for better Adrienne! lol
    Thanks so much for coming by ! your support is amazing ! C’ ya soon ! Say “hi” to “snuffles” (Dan) for me…haha… I hear he has a cold..Hope he feels better soon ! bye 😉

  4. David Haas permalink
    January 25, 2012 7:47 PM

    Hi,
    I have a question about your blog. Please email me!
    Thanks,
    David

  5. January 26, 2012 5:54 PM

    Oh No! I’m now terrified to eat my fruits and vegetables. I’ll have to start to double up on my supplements. More pills…Less juice! Ha, ha, ha. Soon we’ll all be like the people in the movie “Soylent Green” :-O

    • January 28, 2012 5:30 AM

      Boy I sure hope not! I think the rules and regulations are so messed up that we better start paying attention to what we are eating!.. I hope you did get something from it!.
      Have a great Weekend! 😉

Leave a Reply

