Skip to content

3 Easy, Meaningful Ways To Give Of Yourself.

April 13, 2012

Last week my post was about what to “give up”.  This week, I want to talk about not what you should  “give up”  but what you should

“give.”

 

Simple and Easy

 

Everyone LOVES the idea of simple and easy.  

We’re all busy. We would love some things to just be easy, and wow,  if we can get simple too?!  Would’nt THAT be awesome?   For instance two things we have a hard time finding time for.

Giving and helping others.  

So many times you’ve heard these statements, I know I have..  Maybe you have even said them yourself.

 

“I don’t have enough time to give to someone else”

“I don’t have enough energy at the end of the day to give more than I do”.

“I wish I could, but I just,  well….I can’t.”

 

Yes.  You do.

Yes, you can.

 

 Because this….. is EASY

I know we are all running around every single day trying to get to the job, to the store and even….. to the gym. 🙂

But making time to help another person is something that when you DO make time,  you’ll be getting much more in return than you could ever give.  

  GIVE ME………. “5 minutes”…. Read this blog and let me convince you!.

 

 

There are so many ways you can give.  But here are 3 simple and easy,  yet meaningful and fulfilling ways to do it!.

 

 

 

One of the best things you can ever give is that of yourself and your time.

 

Give someone ……Your Time

 

 

I know I just got finished saying I know you time is limited. 

This however is 5 minutes. 

If you’re taking 5 minutes to send a Email’s and or text messages to people everyday …Then in 5 minutes you can LISTEN to someone, you can call them on the phone, or actually sit with them face to face which ever way you decide to do it,  and give that person 5 minutes ….

of your full attention.

 

Why? 

Have you ever needed to talk about something and had no one there to talk to?. .  What did you want more than anything at that moment?  Was it someone just to listen?.  To just sit and hear your side of a situation, or a problem you have been dealing with and are feeling frustrated about?.  Maybe just someone to ask how your day went but I mean  really….. really listen.

We ALL need to be heard and sometimes there isn’t anyone around to listen. 

If you really want to give something meaningful to someone give them you for 5 minutes. LISTEN to their concerns.  Lighten someones heart, you might even have an answer to the problem at hand.   

Just listen.   Give them….. just 5 minutes of your time.  

Give them… you.

 

 

 

 

Respect

Have you ever felt like no one respects your opinion, your thoughts, your ideas or just simply…….You?. 

Then you know what it feels like.  You feel you aren’t valued.   When you take a moment to let someone know you respect them or show them they matter, you show them they are definately valued as a person.

It can mean everything..

If that is difficult for you, I realize not everyone finds it easy to show others how they feel.  So, show them easily by simply treating them with kindness, honesty, and care…

respect

Give someone respect. Show someone that they matter,  if they have trouble with respecting themselves and seeing their own importance, it could show them that they are wrong.  Because if you give them respect you’re showing them they’re worth giving it to themselves.

 

 

SUPER EASY……Show someone a simple kindness

 

That simple act of kindess could mean everything to someone.

This is so incredibly easy and worth it.  Have you ever been down or depressed and someone made you smile, laugh, held a door open for you when you had your hands full?.   Simple little things that at the right moment can mean and feel like a million bucks?.

  Here are a few simple gestures that can change a day around.

Holding a door open for someone

Send someone an Email, Tweet or Facebook  just to say “Hi, I was thinking of you today!”

Pay someone a sincere compliment.

 

You might be thinking “What is that really going to do to help someone?”. 

Maybe a lot!  3 things that are so small and easy that you wouldn’t think it would accomplish much. Ah, but they can and do. 

 You can never know just what will touch someone heart or soul or mean something to them that might not have meant anything to you but to them, it was the lift they needed or the word they longed to hear. 

At the very least you lifted a spirit and comforted maybe even a broken heart or lost soul

You can’t ever know what will mean the world to someone else.

 

What It Comes Down To Is This

Sometimes the smallest thing or simplest action or the most innocent comment or word can mean the world to another person because you can’t always know what is going on in their day, their minds …or hearts.  You can simply say a couple words that possibly was something maybe their Mom used to say, or maybe just send that Tweet and say “hi” just when they felt no one is noticing them at all.  Something so tiny and innocent can mean the world to others. 

It has to me, and I am willing to bet you too.

One more reason to give.  What it can do for YOU.

Giving to others of your time, your heart and your soul can be an amazing feeling when you help another person feel worthwhile, important, valuable.  We don’t neccesarily get gold stars everytime we do it but we can recieve something better.

If you need that pay off  Okay, here it is…..

When you show a kindness to another human being,  at some point it will come back to you.  If not immmeadiately, then it will down the road. 

You learn from giving.  You grow from giving and become stronger for giving.  If  you do it enough you will become more comfortable with it and better at it.  I know not everyone is comfortable being open with others.  When you allow yourself though to be more open, you open your life and heart to so much more than you can imagine.

You know,  next time YOU may be that person on the other end of that bad day and someone will take it upon themselves…… to lift your spirits.  

Sounds easy…Simple.. 

Yes.  For some reason, the simple and easy tasks seem to be some of the ones most needed  in this world today.   Let’s change that!. 

As Human beings, our humanity is one of our best qualities. So,  share it and

 

Give.

 

 

 

Thank you for coming to the blog this week!.

Do you agree with the post this week?  I would love to hear your thoughts!.  Leave a comment below!  Hey, please use the sharing button below!. I would really appreciate that!.

I would love for you to come see and follow me at my other sites too! Come by and leave a note or ask a question!.

Click here to follow the blog of Facebook!

Click here to follow me on Facebook!

Click here to follow me on Twitter!

Click here to follow me on Google+

Have a great week guys!   😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2012 8:50 PM

    What a beautiful message Colleen…

    I know exactly what you’re talking about here which is why I always tell people when speaking with them online that if they ever need any assistance with something, don’t hesitate to ask.

    There is one young lady that did send me an email asking me a question and I answered her. She was so excited that I took the time because no one has helped her at all. We’ve spoken now several times on the phone and she’s joining my business because she knows I’m there for her and I care about her success.

    Small acts of kindness with no hidden agenda will bring more into your life then you could ever imagine. Any act of kindness goes a very long way.

    Love this post and message Colleen so thank you for sharing it.

    Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend.

    ~Adrienne

    • April 16, 2012 3:08 AM

      Awwwww Gee Thanks Adrienne!

      That’s such a nice story!. Wow!. I bet she is so glad she did write you that Email! 🙂 Good for her! I’m sure she will be happy working in your Company. How Cool!.

      You are so right!. And it is easy to just show a little kindness to another person. It’s the small gestures that move others and mean the most!.

      I have been doing more personal development posts lately. I enjoy them and I think do get to the place you want to be healthy and take care of yourself, lose weight or get into shape.
      I think we seem to need more motivation, uplifting, inspirational material more than me talking about the newest Nike Cross Trainer..lol

      Thanks for coming and taking the time to read the post Adrienne! I’m always happy to see and read your Comments! Thanks! I always really appreciate it! 😉

Leave a Reply

