Skip to content

Stop Doubting Your Ablities. Trust —Your Poss-i-bilities!.

May 4, 2012

  

  

 

I have the heart and soul of an athlete..
Do you?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The other day, I looked up the definition

of an Athlete in The Websters dictionary.  

 

An Athlete is  –

A person who is trained or skilled in exercises, sports or games requiring physical strength, agility or stamina.

 

I know,

“You don’t have to have the body of an Athlete, to have the heart and soul of one.”  

 

 

 

The Path I Chose

I always LOVED  to watch people run.  It was always exciting to me to see people do it. It always took my breath to watch them.  I always wanted to be that person.

Now I am.  I Love running.   I recently started doing it regularly.

You don’t have to be an athlete to have the desire to be one.  You can however become one.   You have the beginning’s of an athlete inside you.  I think we all do. 

When I run and feel like that athlete,  I am that athlete. I think of everyone who wants to try but feels it’s too hard.  I want to take you with me on my run to share that feeling with you.

Exhilaration, strength, invincibility. 

If I can feel it… so can you.  I want you to feel confident, self-assured and good about you.  It seemed like it took forever for to find something that I wanted more than anything else and that I would fight for regardless of the pain, difficulty or the time it could take to reach it.

But I found something,  or rather it found me. 

I tried one more time.  It worked.

So can you.

Yes , you can.

The word can’t….. doesn’t fly here, baby.

You can’t tell me can’t……  because I know different. 

 

 

 

Insight From The Gymgirl  

I understand how bad it can get.  I understand trying everyday and the constant failure, starting one diet after another  and not having the motivation to get out there and exercise can drain your confidence down to almost nothing. 

But I am living proof you can do it.  I’m living proof it can happen.  You can find that spark inside you or it can come into your life and if you grab onto it, nurture it and help it grow, your life can and will change forever. 

 The only thing that will definitely stop you is if you stop trying.

 

 

 

The Buck Stops With You.

 

“I can’t”

Like I said.  that phrase, Doesn’t work here.   I know what Websters say, and they are right,  But I know now that…..

The heart of an athlete is also this:

Someone who loves a challenge. Who loves to win. Does their best  every time, then digs deep and ask for just a little more than he feels he can give…. and then does.  Someone who has a fire inside to reach for the highest point of excellence and never stop until they attain it and reach it. 

That, to me sounds like it can anyone.  An Athlete is just someone who isn’t willing to accept “OK” as good enough.  Just someone who doesn’t know the word “can’t” and doesn’t quit.  They continually reach for more.

They aren’t willing to accept “OK”  as their personal best.

Are you willing to live an “OK” life?

 

 

 

The Bottom line.

If I can come from a place where I didn’t even see it possible, or care if it was, Why do you think you can’t?  One step at a time, one day at a time, one small goal at a time, one breath at a time. 

You see that girl in that picture at the top of the page?

She wouldn’t sweat. 

She never exercised.

She thought…. that was it.  The way life was meant to be.

 

 

She was so wrong.  Look at her now.  I’ve never been so happy to be wrong. It’s in the darkest places and moments that light shines the brightest. That people do, that we do. 

This, is me. I am putting me out there now.  I never would have before.  It has changed me. I am a totally different person.

You have it in you……….and can do it.

Inspiration, motivation, strength, willpower, dreams and goals,  can come in all kinds of forms.  Mine, I thank God for everyday.  I protect it with my life. I respect it, would die for it. 

Just truth. 

It means that much to me.  It’s my heart and soul.

Life is way too short people.  Go out and find what DOES mean that much and stop wasting your time on things that don’t ask you to be more, that don’t make you work harder to reach, things that are only expecting “OK” from you.  

I found mine and now I work on being better , faster, stronger everyday because I want that life that I dreamed of.  That dream deserves my full attention, respect and every bit of effort I can give it.  Anything less would be an insult to my dream and all that I have gone though to attain it so far.

It comes down to a very simple fact:

It’s this…..

 

You’re all in.. or all out….

This is your life not a dress rehearsal, get moving now.  Your time and you only get so much of it ………is ticking .

Reach for that excellence in your life.   You deserve nothing less from yourself.

 

 

 

Could you be an athlete?  

This athlete……………. doesn’t doubt it for a minute.    

 

 

 

Thanks for coming to the blog this week.  I appreciate it!.

I would love to hear what you think about this.  Do you feel that person inside you?

Leave a comment below and tell me your story or opinion!

 

I would love for you to check out the following places where you can find me and more motivational tips as well as health, fitness and just everyday life concerns.

Join the conversation!

Click here to follow me on Facebook!

Click here to follow the blog on Facebook!

Click here to follow me on Twitter!

Click here to follow me on Google+

Please check out my friend’s new website.  www.HowToGetOnRealityTv.net Dan Gheesling is a wonderful blogger and now has written 2 ebooks to help others reach thier dreams as he did.  He was the BIG winner 4 years ago on CBS Tv’s  “Big Brother” show.  Now he wants to help others do it too!.  Any reality tv dreams you may have, Dan’s site can be of help !

Check out his amazing blog as well  for motivational, informative and fun!! www.iwouldcoach.com

 

Have a wonderful upcoming week guys!!   🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2012 2:48 AM

    Amen to that sister! I applaud you for going after what you want. I know that anyone who wants something bad enough just needs to put their minds to it and they can achieve it.

    Now I’m definitely NOT an athlete and I have no desire to be one either. Okay, I’d love to be tone and I did go work out for over six months and saw no results so I said to hell with it.

    I honestly do not enjoy working out, I admit that. But I do enjoy walking and Kayla and I walk every evening. Depends on the weather here as to when we actually head out but right now it’s late in the evenings when it’s the coolest. We enjoy being out of the house, smelling the air, touring (that’s Kayla)…

    But I do admire you Colleen and you definitely can help a lot of people realize that they can do this as well. If they really want it bad enough.

    You go girl!

    ~Adrienne

    • May 10, 2012 2:49 AM

      Hey Adrienne !

      You ALWAYS make my day with your comments. You are so kind and generous with your compliments to me!.
      I Like to think of myself as an athlete. I’m not Lance Armstrong but I intend to be the best Colleen I can be. And you know what? Lance Armstrong wasn’t always Lance. So heck, I can be if I want too ! Aim high if you’re going to aim at all! 🙂
      I have a trainer friend who does Iron man competitions for fun, her name is Megan. She called me an athlete and I thought I was going to burst lol To hear that from HER, was amazing.

      I feel the most important part is the feeling, the intention to try and the feeling you have about yourself and what that feeling can accomplish.
      You have to believe in you can do it. Whether it’s sports, losing weight, getting on reality tv (wink) or having the best Marketing blog! :))

      No matter what your goal. You have to be the best and see it in your mind. I think Athlete’s become athletes because the “KNOW” they can and will achieve it.
      You do a great job with walking Adrienne! Kayla is a perfect way to keep your cardio health …healthy lol As far as toning, It will tone your legs, hips, even your stomach!. I lost 40 lbs just walking at first ! You are doing great!, never stop!. You are doing a lot more than a lot of people out there today!. I would say you’re ahead of the game Adrienne !

      Thanks for coming! It’s more appreciated than you know!!. Have a fantastic week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

