Skip to content

How To Keep Your Fighting Spirit Alive!

June 5, 2012

Nothing in this world is as wonderful and moving as seeing someone win who wasn’t supposed to.

Take the movie “Cinderella Man” 

A movie about James J. Braddock. 

He was the 1935 Heavyweight fighter of the world.  Beating Max Bear that year in a heavyweight fight…..

that he was not supposed to win.

For that fight, he was a 10 to 1 underdog at the time fighting possibly the hardest hitter.. of all time.

In the movie, Actor Russel Crowe plays fighter James Braddock.

 

 Been there, felt that

 

 

Not supposed to win”    Boy how many times have you felt like that ?   

 I have……….It stinks!.

You feel like you’re doing everything right.  Fighting  hard,  and sometimes even harder than the other guy…. and you’re still not gaining ground ….but they are.

What is that about ?!  If I do it all right,  fight hard,  I should win right?,  reach my goal.. Sure as heck do better than the next guy….

Right?……

Not always?!

  

 I have heard this statement a million times in my life.

“For whatever reason sometimes doing everything right doesn’t ensure we will win”.

 

 See, I have a HUGE problem with that . 

I don’t except it……… and I DON’T believe it.    

Neither should YOU !! …. Why?

 It’s bull.

 

I happen to think IF….. we fail …….It’s most likely because it wasn’t our time…..

Yet.

 

 But you have to keep that fighting spirit alive and well while you’re waiting and working towards your goal and dream.

How can we do that

 

 

 1.  Keeping your Perspective.- 

You have to have… perspective–

When your situation gets rough you need to be able to stand back and look at it rationally and calmly,  yea,  I know,  not always easy.

 But perspective is key in staying in the game. 

Know that whatever is going on at the moment is subject to change and that change is constant, helps when things really feel  impossible .  But I know having the ability to see things that way, rationally and calmly, especially in a moment of fear, high  stress or frustration…. is not easy.   In those moments…. the next idea.. helps me a lot.

 

2.  Have an  outlet, a way to blow off steam when needed–

I think this is so important.  We all need a place to go to let it all out once in a while.  I personally don’t believe in holding it all in.  I think it’s much healthier to

let it out. 

For me it’s exercise.  I go to the gym and blow off steam, frustration, worry, fear or anger. Heck, sometimes…maybe all of them !

Putting all that emotion into a positive outlet is the best way to do it.  But I firmly believe in letting it out.   I’m all for keeping your cool .

But sometimes we need to let it out…. but like I said,  in a healthy way.  

Getting in touch with a friend, talking,  is another good way to get it off your chest, or let it all out.. To get another’s perspective can be so helpful and enlightening!.A lot of the time a friend can SEE what you can’t because they are not in the heat of it and can see it clearer.. 

But and this is so important. Talk to someone who is a positive influence!    Worse comes to worse….scream into a pillow…  (yes really)

but …let… it …out!

 

 

3.   Know you’re not alone in your fight–

Now, your fight might be different from my fight but one thing we ALL have in common is….The fight. 

Like James Braddock. 

 His story actually made me feel better , less alone and gave me a boost …. a shot in the arm.  His story is full of Hope.  It has a wonderful message.

 And best of all it’s a true story. 

This is the REAL James J. Braddock.

 Watching a movie, reading a book , heck go on Google and google ” inspiring stories.”  You can get such a good, positive feeling about your own struggle when you realize others have struggled as well….and made it through.

We are all fighters.  You may not think you are…. but you are.  Everyday we fight for something.  Sometimes just a better life for you and those you love.  Which to me is one of the hardest struggles…

In the movie “Cinderella Man”  James Braddock had fought for years.  He had been a fighter who was slightly older, and somewhat beaten up from years of fighting. 

He was down and out.  But it was the time of the depression, 19//  and everyone was struggling. 

James Braddock …was no different.

It was during the depression and everyone was trying to get by.

 He had a chance to change his life, his and the lives of his family.   He also had a chance to reach a goal the world thought had passed him by. 

Everyone told him he couldn’t. he shouldn’t try.  It would be too hard and take too much time, effort and sweat to even attempt…. to get to the position …of even

getting a chance.

 But  for himself…. and his family….  he had to try.

He did..

Like James Braddock we sometimes are faced with a situation or goal that seems impossible and too much to even attempt to fix or reach it.    But giving into the difficulty of something  and accepting  the world’s view of what you can do and accomplish in  your life and just walk away, because , well, it’s too hard, it’s too much work, its way too much of a dream……is wrong,  and being a  defeatist.

Being a defeatist, will change nothing.

Ever.

No, it won’ t always be EASY.  But I know one thing.  Giving up will get you no where but…. defeated.  

 Get angry !  Get determined, get serious.  This is not a test guys…….. it’s your life.  I say this all the time but I don’t think we  always see it or feel it until it’s in our face.  So this is me…

 in YOUR face. 

 

 

Whatever you are dreaming of, working for, working towards, you have to be driven, and relentless about it.  Life can  get you up against the ropes from time to time…. Life can and will do that.  So, you must have an answer for life when it does.

To repeat..

—For that fight, he was a 10 to 1 underdog at the time fighting possibly the hardest hitter.. of all time.—

But he won.

So, be that “fighter” that you are.

Ready?

Boxing stance……Fists up…….Wink at your opponent.  That’s right.

Wink at him.

Afterall, you know something he doesn’t…

You know ..YOU,  have already won.

Then swing…. and don’t stop until he’s down on the mat and for the count.

No matter what it is. You are stronger, faster and smarter.

Become it.

Know it.

Own it.

breathe it.

and live it.

Always.

It’s only when you stop fighting that it’s over.

 

 “Never stop, never stop fighting until the fight is done.  

Here…… endeth the lesson”. —

 

 

Read the true life story of a true fighter… James Braddock’s story

 

 

 

Thanks for coming by guys…

 

Where do you find inspiration when YOU need to? I would really be interested in knowing what inspires you and what inspires you every time!

Please leave a comment at the bottom and let me know!

Hey please share this post by using the “sharing buttons” below as well!.  I would appreciate that so very much!. 

Thanks for coming to the blog this week.  I appreciate it!.  Your time is important and your taking a moment of it to be here, is so important to me.

Please visit me at these other sites for more motivational tips, ideas as well as health and fitness tips and info.

Click here to follow me on Facebook!

Click here to follow me on Twitter!

Click here to follow me on Google+

Click here to follow the blog on Facebook!

Please check out the other pages here at the blog for motivation and help and see who I follow for motivation..

Please check out www.iwouldcoach.com the blogger is a great guy who is always helpful and he’s pretty smart. Not to mention pretty cool. 🙂 A blogger friend and all around cool guy. 🙂

Go make it a great Day!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2012 6:35 PM

    I’ve been studying the law of attraction a lot lately Colleen and one thing I’ve learned is that sometimes we want something really really really bad. We’re doing what we’ve been taught, knowing that it’s ours and we’re just waiting for it to be delivered yet it doesn’t arrive.

    Instead of seeing that as defeat you have to look at it like God has something else better in store for you. For you it might be this one thing that you want badly because you think it will be the answer. But he has something better waiting for you and now is not the right time.

    Sometimes we have more lessons to learn or we need more experiences under our belt before we can appreciate it for what it is. I know, like you said sometimes that doesn’t seem fair but that’s our egos talking. There is someone else in charge here so we have to trust that he knows what’s best for us.

    But, never ever give up or in because it is coming. One way or the other. You just don’t know when or in what form. So treat it like it’s Christmas Eve and you “know” it’s yours.

    Thanks for sharing your experience with us. So very encouraging.

    ~Adrienne

    • June 9, 2012 3:25 AM

      Hey Adrienne,

      I wanted to tell people just because whatever they are hoping for or reaching for doesn’t come right to us in the time frame we hoped for, that doesn’t mean it isn’t coming. I think whatever it is we are trying to attain, it just isn’t the right or best time yet. Like you said we need maybe to grow and become more the person ready to handle what it is we are reaching for.
      There could be something else for us.
      That is just the fighter in me not giving up on what I know, is the right thing for me.. lol Always the fighter…

      I wanted to share that feeling with people, you know, you get down or frustrated and I wanted everyone to know I too have my moments. 🙂
      But Adrienne, Honestly, I think your comment was written better than the post! . lol

      I am a huge believer. I was brought up Catholic and I agree with you. God knows best. Sometimes though, I wish he would explain things to me so I can understand better. 🙂

      I won’t ever give up. You’re right, it IS coming.
      Giving up is not an option. 🙂
      I hope everyone got that from this post. I thought the movie was a great way to show that. Someone else who never gave up hope.
      Thanks Adrienne!…Your comment was one I will remember !
      Always ! Thanks for taking your BUSY time to stop by. You’re so Awesome! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  2. June 20, 2012 5:41 PM

    Awesome post, Colleen.

    I am thankful to Adrienne for indirectly pointing me to your site.

    Anyways, to the topic:

    I agree with all your points. For me, I find inspiration from the fact that there are millions of other people who had worse fights than me – and they won. If they can win the real hard ones, why can’t I win my fight? People like Gandhi or MLK or even Einstein? Those guys didn’t give up, did they? They weren’t appreciated much. People thought they couldn’t win. But, they did. They tried hard. They fought their fights.

    I agree on letting it out, funneling the negative energy into something positive. I usually funnel all my negative thoughts and energy into basketball – When I real negative, when I feel that I should quit, I just play basket ball real hard, I run, try to make the hoop, get the ball, try to make the hoop again while running, it tires me out but it also takes away all the negative energy from me.

    One thing I would like to add is to define our fights. Today, we are living in a very complex world that we don’t even realize our true fight. Sometimes, we just need to quit and try something else (because it isn’t our true fight!).

    And we may not always win. In that case, we try again. We try harder, we try more until we achieve the success. If we realize that it is not our fight, we look for our true battle and fight.

    Thank you for such an awesome post, Colleen!

    • June 23, 2012 2:27 AM

      Hi Jeevan!

      Gee your comment really made my day!. I agree with everything you’ve said. You sound pretty together. I tend to get even more determined when things get tough. Though I am human and I do have my moments of feeling down.

      I like that you channel your energy into basketball!. Good choice. With me it’s working out. I lost 130 lbs about 2 years ago and became a workout enthusiast. I love it. It’s been a blessing.

      I want to thank you for coming! I appreciate your comments and gee, taking your time to read the blog. How terrifc are you ! 😉

      Have a wonderful Weekend Jeevan! Hope to see you here again 😉

  3. November 22, 2012 4:18 PM

    It is so helpful to read that someone else has done everything right and also struggled. I was feeling so defeated. Knowing that I’m not alone in these feelings is so helpful. I was so depressed I couldn’t get out of bed. I guess I just needed to hear that others experience this sometimes, too. I’m getting out of bed now. Thanks.

    • November 23, 2012 3:25 AM

      Hi Anunomus 🙂

      Oh yes. There I think are lots of us out there who can do everything right and it doesn’t work. I think It’s because that path, the way you NEED to take to get you where you want to be or reach that goal you need to reach just isn’t in view ….Yet. The trick is not to allow dissapoitment to trick you into believing it’s over. It’s never over, we need to keep trying, everyday. we need to look dissapointment in the face and know it’s only temporary because the person, place or thing we need, the answer to our problem IS coming. We just have to hold on until it shows up.

      And it will.

      I am MORE that honored you feel my post got you out of bed and taking another shot at another day!. I know so well it can SUCK . But, that can and will change. Your due. Keep trying, your time will come. Look forward to that day… You own it!. Good luck! and Thank you for your kind words! Hope to see you again 😉

  4. August 14, 2015 9:27 PM

    Reblogged this on VictoriaLouiseW and commented:
    Så extremt inspirerande 🙂

Leave a Reply

