Skip to content

A Few Helpful Ways To Handle Problems… And “Stand Your Ground”

July 24, 2012

Hi, I’m Colleen. Your blogger .

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Holding the line” 

Ever feel like your life has become that?  …….You….. spending time…… just…..

holding the line”.

By that I mean, everyone has a limit to what they can handle.  Lifes situations can bring you too YOUR personal limit. You can feel like you’re losing your grip on a situation or feel you never had a grip on it in the first place.  It can threaten your motivation, determination, even your hope…..

and possibly your faith.

It can be scary, stressful… and draining.

But NOT… impossible.  

Have you ever felt like this guy?

Poor guy…… He just can’t seem to catch a break!.

The one thing you have to admire about him though…….Is

HE NEVER STOPS TRYING.

Ever feel like THIS guy? You aren’t alone. Remember that.

 I wanted to write this post because I think it helps to know others can feel like you and I wanted to share with you how I keep trying and

“Hold that line” . 

Good Ole’ Wylie may have his own tips on it but here are a few hopefully helpful ones of my own that I use all the time.

 

 

1.  Don’t mentally give up your power

Sometimes being in a situation that is stressful and difficult you feel like sitting it out, giving up. 

Don’t do it.   Easier said then done sometimes.   Yes, it is.  

But remember this…  If ….you decide do quit,   you will never know what could have been.   

Picture yourself with your dream at hand…. and then without it.  Which one can you live with ?

Seeing that, picturing it, playing it out in your head and feeling that  possible outcome in your heart….. is HUGE.

If you can FEEL it, the  best that you can, because it isn’t happening now of course, but if you can see it and get the feeling of how it could be if you don’t go through with staying the course and to keep trying and fighting..It can be the difference between you finding the strength to keep trying…..and not.   So picture it. visualize it. Practice it.

 

 

2. Give yourself a break!

Guys, this one is my favorite and I have found is so important that I have been doing it more and more. 

I am, please Forgive my french..

A stubborn hard ass. 

It’s how I get when I’m fighting for something important to me . I LOVE that part of me…. and thank God,  I am that way.

  But instead of denying yourself a break which you can do.  Telling yourself you should be stronger.  I do that a lot to myself…Try this instead….try seeing it…. this way….

YOU WILL ACTUALLY FEEL AND BE STRONGER…. IF…. YOU TAKE THAT BREAK.

Escape from all the tension, worry and stress for a while.

 

 

3Watching  A Movie 

This is a super way to power down for a bit and just relax.  One rule though. 

Nothing depressing.  Watching a movie can take you out of your own surroundings and mind,  to another place and time and allow you to relax and “reboot” ….so to speak.

 

 

4.  Go Shopping  

You don’t have to spend a lot of  money.. I don’t want to give you another concern…your wallet ….But just getting out walking around looking at different things can take your mind to another place as well and …..hey, you might even find a couple of sales!

 

 

5.   Taking A Walk.

Getting into your sneakers and heading outside can be a big help, fresh air, sunshine, or even after dinner in the evening…, if you need more going on in your head to take you mind off of your problem than looking at the neighborhood…..

 

 

6.    Try Playing A Game Online 

Something that takes your concentration and you need to think about but something fun.

 

 

7.    Read A Book.  

Like a movie can help, so can a book.  it’s just a different way to go about it.  But a book is a more quiet way of going about it.  If you need something more to get your attention the movie would be the way to go.  But a book is a wonderful way of relaxing and going to a different place in your head.

 

 

8.   Keep A Journal……

When upset, write it all down, write it out where you can SEE your feeling ‘s on paper.  You might see something in the way you are handling the problem that can spark  another way to help you.

 

 

9.    Pray……Say A Prayer Or Just Find A Place, “Breathe And Reboot”.

I’m catholic,  so I  pray including say my Rosary everyday, which I am very Big on.  BUT…It doesn’t matter what you religion you are  you may not be catholic or even religious.  Hey, that’s not a problem. 

If you just spend some quiet time alone and doing nothing but being quiet and not so much thinking but resting that brain that’s been racing, it can be an amazing help. Just breathe and  be quiet.   The whole point is to give your thought process a break and some peace, regain your calm, strength…. and equilibrium.

 

 

10.  Try to come to the understanding

This one,  is hard for me

Because of my never give up give in attitude.  It may be for you too.  If you are dealing with a situation that may take time to straighten out and come to a point of being resolved.  Somethings are just going to take time.  I hate that more than I can ever tell you.  But I have been thinking about it.

Here’s what I have come up with.

Light bulb!!!

Some things can take 5 minutes to resolve themselves…..and  some, can take 5 years.  Maybe even maybe longer.  So feel it out.  Get in a place in your head and heart you can feel you are at a place of power with your situation.  Understanding it will take time but still always knowing it will work out, that answers WILL come, that moment where your fear, or possibly worry will dissolve.  You have to sometimes brace yourself for that realization that things maybe take a while.

I’m trying to do that.  But as you are doing that, realize one thing, know one thing

If you keep trying, keep getting up everyday and pushing forward despite the problem pushing back….. you will prevail. 

 

 

11.  Talk It Out With Someone.

This sounds like an easy answer or a no brainer but when we get really upset we sometimes lose sight of the obvious.

 So,  find a friend, family member, clergy, whoever….. you can gain any positive feedback from and a perspective of optimism and hope.  Talk too them but really 

LISTEN.

Find someone who knows you and knows your heart  who has seen you fight for something and can remind you that you are truly capable of getting through this tough time and you ARE capable of getting through this as well.

So…..

Remembering A Few Good Points

Do it with optimism, Hope and courage.  Not easy… No. Impossible.

No way.  Remember…. you’re stronger than whatever it is despite that nagging feeling you aren’t.  That feeling is fear, doubt and worry and they.. Don’t know you.  They don’t know me.  You don’t belive it?  I know.. sometimes it’s tough. when you feel small and weak.  those moment are hard.  Hang on. Please . they pass.   I hate them.  Get mad.  Remember yourself in a moment of strength and know THAT…. is truly you

Remember, that is inside you and it’s your authentic self. 

Problems will always be there ……….But you will always be there as well.  Ready…. and ready to take it on and….. it’s YOU that will be standing at the end. 

Remember who you are. 

Again, remember this too….

If you give up you will never know.  Can you live with that?

It’s asking yourself  “What if”  for the rest of your life or….

hanging on and fighting. 

For me, there is no choice.

I’m in for the long haul.  What I fight for is worth the fight. 

It is. 

I am. 

You are.  Remember that.

(Boxing stance) ………..Point me at em’!.

 

 

 

 

Thank you for coming to the blog!!!.  I so appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and your time with me and others who stop by..

Please take a second to visit the “blogs to watch” I have put together on the top of the page.  Click the link and find some terrific people to follow!.

One I love to mention.. is Dan Gheesling’s blog and new Website.  www.iwouldcoach.com   www.DanGheesling.com   He inspired me to start this blog…. I admire him for so many reasons.  His websites are great!.

Find more motivational ideas… and me… at these places as well!

Click here to follow me on Twitter!

Click here to follow me on Facebook!

Click here to follow the blog on Facebook!

So what do YOU think of this post?   Let me know by leaving a comment and your thoughts!.   I’m always happy to find out what you think !

Thanks so much and have a super week!.  🙂

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2012 7:07 PM

    Hey Colleen,

    Great Points!

    The Coyote is an excellent example of determination and hard work – no matter what happens to him, he never gives up – he always try to come up with something else to catch the bird (another lesson here: Sometimes, we need to quit the way we are trying and try some another way to achieve the same goal).

    While I was reading your points, I was thinking about what I should do next (I was thinking about watching a movie, and there it is – listed right in your post). You are right, sometimes, we need to take a break, in the form of a vacation, or a movie, or a book, journal or short walk.

    I also agree with your points about keeping the optimistic attitude and talking it out with someone (What I do is talk it out with myself – picture myself as someone else. I always do that – I have two personalities – No, I don’t have schizophrenia! – one good (or positive) and one kind of evil (or negative)).

    Anyways, thank you for the post, Colleen!

    Jeevan Jacob John

    • July 29, 2012 9:34 PM

      Thank you Jeevan !
      Gee I’m so glad you got something from this. That makes my day! I DO think a movie is a great idea. I have used that one over and own and it never fails to work. Gives you a nice break and hopefully can even provide you with a little strentgh and hope. Pick a movie with that message and it can actually help you with your problem, giving you a couple ideas right along with giving you a break. Or if you really want to take a break, which I like to do.. just watch something that has nothning but FUN attached to it.!

      Gee thank you so much for coming back Jeevan! It means So much that you did and took the time to let me know what you think! Awesome! 🙂 Have great week!

  2. July 27, 2012 8:59 PM

    Colleen,

    I agree with #2, to be kind to yourself. I thoroughly enjoyed your article. It was very motivational.

    Great read. Thanks.

    • July 29, 2012 9:45 PM

      Gee thanks so much Spencer! What an awesome feeling that you found it helpful and motivational. Wow. Thanks! Yea I think taking it easy on yourself at times in necessary. We can be our toughest critics and our biggest roadblocks at times.
      Thank for taking your time to read it. That’s so kind of you 🙂

      Have a terific week!

  3. July 31, 2012 5:01 PM

    I love the Coyote Colleen so he was definitely a perfect example of what you wanted to share here. Hard work and determination will definitely get you to where you want to be.

    I’m also glad you’re that way because I believe that’s where you need to be to have conquered what you have up to now. I’m the same way, a hard ass. You probably wouldn’t know if from what you know of me online but that’s why I’m still single and I only have a small group of close friends. I don’t put up with much and laziness drives me insane.

    I’m a doer not a talker so I know for myself as well that nothing happens overnight but you have to really want it bad enough and for those that do, they’ll never give up. Congratulations my friend. You are a winner! 🙂

    Enjoy your week Colleen.

    ~Adrienne

    • August 12, 2012 4:07 AM

      Hey Adrienne!

      Yea I love that crazy coyote haha. Yea, That is me . Tough girl. I try hard.. I don’t know any other way. I think it’s years of being a kid and teased, (fat kid) and then taking care of Mom. That was fighting 24/7 for 10 years. I LOVE to fight. But like everyone I’m human and get tired. But I think it would kill me to give up. Thank you ! I feel like a winner in many ways. One of them is meeting amazing people as I have so far blogging like you! 😉

  4. October 10, 2012 11:17 AM

    Hi I must say your Article are too much good. I loved it….

Leave a Reply

