Skip to content

What Are You Thankful For This Thanksgiving?

November 22, 2012

Hi, I’m Colleen Kelly, your blogger! Welcome!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s a good question you know.

What am I thankful for?”

 

I know, you’re thinking it sounds maybe a little corny.    Ok, but I think it’s one of the best things you can do for yourself.

What I mean is ask yourself the question and even ACTUALLY make a list!.

It doesn’t matter how many things are on your list.  But can be easier than you think.

When I thought about what I’m thankful for this year.  One of my first thought was Hurricane Sandy.   I live in Morris County NJ and a few weeks ago we had a hurricane.  Now NJ NEVER, EVER, EVER gets anything close to what the weather reports actually call for.  Sure, we get wind….rain….snow….

 

But this time……

 

 

 

 

They were right. 

Where I live, we were out of power for 11 days and homes in this area were crushed by trees and a few were left looking like doll houses.  You could look inside and see the stairs, beds, rooms  everything.  Someone’s home torn apart and life for that family, turned upside down in one night.  Some houses,  were not affected at all, and some just had a tree fall here or there in or around their home.   There was an icredible amount of power lines down …everywhere.

In other parts of NJ and NY it was the same and in some area’s it was so much worse.

For those people,  life a few weeks later, is still a struggle to get back to some kind of normal.  There is so much need, and so much help is still needed and will be for quite a long time to come.

(Please check out this link to where you can help in any way, your time and or money if possible anything will be helpful and welcome! 🙂

Click Here To Find Out How You Can Help In The Hurricane Sandy Relief Effort!

    

Choosing , To Be Grateful

Sometimes choosing to be grateful, making a conscious decision to be grateful is a little tough.  If we are dealing with something or struggling with something it can be tough to just do that.

That’s human and it’s OK.  I’m not saying the world is always a happy place , peace reigns everywhere and you don’t have any worries.

What I’m saying  is you choose to remember one thing. 

Just ONE THING.

I’m saying to pick one thing, person, place, whatever… and be grateful for it.  You can be grateful for your family, spouse, dog even Justin beieber if you want.  But the idea here is to feel grateful in your heart for something.

If you think you can make that list ..Fantastic!

Pick up a pen or pencil and write them down.  Carry it in your wallet, purse or tack it on the wal!l.  But don’t let the everyday ups and downs make you forget you DO have something to be grateful for.

Sometimes this rat race we are in everyday and life’s problems can get heavy,  remembering just ONE SINGLE thing you are grateful can make your heart, your soul,  just a bit lighter… maybe even alot.

The Wrap Up

What I have said here is nothing new,  nothing earth shattering or breathtakingly original.  It’s just the truth and that can be tough to see sometimes when times get rough or we get down or just simply really busy.

But just one thing everyday can make the difference.

Sometimes you  have to try to make that effort to feel  grateful.  You can do it.  It might be very simple and small but keeping that flame alive in your heart and soul is so very, very important.  It can be something that simply made you smile today…… for just that second!.  Perfect!!.

It can be something huge as well.

Like being thankful my family my friends and I made it through Hurricane Sandy all together, happy AND healthy.    As I said some were not as lucky and here is another that where you can make a difference to someone in the Hurricane Sandy relief efforts

Click Here! You Can Help Those In Need Just In Time For The Holiday Season!

 

 

Just A Side Note

I’m going to start a new blog!.  I think I may keep this one going,  I’m not sure yet.   I’m working on it and it’s just in the beginning stages, I’m still working on the format and a name.   I wanted to let you know it will be a little different yet I will post on  health related subjects and motivation.

I have changed a long the way…. so my blogging has to evolve as well.  Stay tuned for that.  More coming soon about what’s up.

Last Thoughts

Remember being grateful is a muscle we have to excercise too.  This time of year is the perfect time to do that.

 

 

I want to wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving!.

 

 

 

Thank you for coming to my blog! I ALWAYS appreciate the support so much!.  As always I Hope you have a great week and If you celebrate Thanksgiving, enjoy!  Drive carefully if you are traveling and Have a terrific week!

Check out this great website www.DanGheesling.com It’s motivational,  fun and very interactive!.  Dan Gheesling is a High School Football Coach, reality tv winner and a wonderful guy.

 

 

 

   Dan is always trying to help others and his new Coaching plan he has for those individuals who would like a little help in reaching their goals is doing great and spaces are filling up fast, I hear.  If you would like to check it out go here http://www.dangheesling.com/hire-coach/ He is going to start taking new applications for December very soon!  He truly is a wonderful choice if you are interested.  None better!

Please leave a comment below about this post!  Tell me what you think!.  I would love to hear you thoughts on how YOU stay grateful, and if you have any questions about Dan, feel free to add them in your comments!  I will answer any I can!.  🙂

I would love you to follow me at the following places!

 

Click here to Follow Me On Twitter!

Click Here To Follow Me On Facebook!

Follow The Blog On Facebook!

 

Thanks for Coming!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2012 5:34 PM

    Looks like I’m really late coming to this post but I also did one for Thanksgiving and I actually listed everything I am thankful for so I won’t share that long list with you here.

    I do believe though that when you have an attitude of gratitude that Mother Nature may still hit your area but you’ll find that the damage is done more to the homes around you then your actual structure. I see that a lot with the hurricanes that hit our city.

    Some people may blame God for the horrible weather conditions but if he made everything so perfect all the time we’d never challenge ourselves to do better would we.

    I hate that anyone or anything was hurt by Sandy’s appearance but I believe having an attitude of gratitude every single day of your life can make a huge difference on the way things turn out for you.

    Thank you for sharing this Colleen and I’ll look forward to seeing that new blog.

    Have a great weekend.

    ~Adrienne

    • December 12, 2012 12:41 AM

      Hey Adrienne,

      Thanks for coming! You are always welcome no matter when you come!!. haha! You are right on all fronts. It amazed me that here in NJ we weren’t more ready for this though. NY as well really. Last October we were hit by a HUGE snow storm that shut everything down in the same way for the same time frame this one did. I hope maybe THIS storm, will get a few law makers and city AND town planners to really step up thier games! This was a bad one..

      Thanks Adrienne! So much for your support you Rock! The new blog has a new name… But I’m still putting it all together! It’s coming though… 😉 See ya 🙂 Have a Super week!

  2. July 29, 2013 4:15 AM

    Right away I am ready to do my breakfast, once having my breakfast coming over again to read other news.

    • July 29, 2013 4:39 AM

      Not sure what you mean but I’m glad you visited my blog! Thank you! 🙂

  3. October 6, 2013 1:08 AM

    Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!
    Very useful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot.
    I was looking for this certain info for a very long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

    • October 6, 2013 1:39 AM

      Gee thank you so very much for taking th time to comment! I do my best here on the blog. Much appreciated! 🙂

  4. October 6, 2013 10:37 AM

    Hey! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 4!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and
    look forward to all your posts! Keep up the outstanding work!

  5. September 21, 2014 11:51 AM

    I think what you published made a lot of sense. However,
    think about this, what if you composed a catchier post title?
    I am not saying your content isn’t good., but what if you added a title to maybe grab folk’s
    attention? I mean What Are You Thankful For This
    Thanksgiving? | A Work In Progress is kinda boring.

    You ought to glance at Yahoo’s home page and
    note how they create article titles to get viewers to open the links.
    You might add a video or a related picture or two to get readers excited about everything’ve written.
    In my opinion, it might bring your blog a little bit more interesting.

    • September 21, 2014 6:24 PM

      Thank you for your honest opinion Judson 🙂 I always appreciate constructive criticism 🙂 I will think about what you’ve said! 🙂 Thanks for coming to the blog and taking your time to read and leave a comment 🙂 It always means a lot to me!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

