Skip to content

Healthy, Low-Cal, No-Bake Easy To Make Energy Balls!

March 1, 2016

EnergyBallsbloghelping#7.jpg

 

#2blog 579 (1) to be finished brwn eyes

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been hearing and reading so much about energy balls lately and I really wanted to try them.

I tried a recipe from Dr Oz.   I liked them so much!.  The only problem I had with his, was calories.  His came out to be about 150 calories. To me that seemed way too much for a little energy ball.  I figure, it’s all in what your ingredients are and your amounts.

I decided to come up with my own recipe.  I’ve made them 3 times so far.  I plan on making more next weekend.  I wanted to share my recipe with everyone.  They came out great, and I can’t wait to try more variations, and they really are pretty good.  🙂  A couple of them can do the trick.  They are filling enough, and make a great healthy snack. Especially after working out.

 

The recipe is pretty simple, and takes about 45 mins. to 1 hour, from start to finish.

When I made it the first time I made one single batch.  (It made about 15 -20 energy balls) When I make them now I double the recipe.  Much like a cookie recipe, as my Mom taught me, you most likely need to double it because the a lot recipes don’t make exactly the amount it says it will.  Doubled, the recipe will make  about 30 – 35 energy balls.

 

Healthy and Really Simple, Energy Ball Recipe!

 

(It made about 15 -20 energy balls)

2  1/2  Cups of oatmeal   (uncooked dry, 1 minute oats)

1 level scoop of whey protein

1/2 cup ground chia and flax seed. (Hodgson Mill brand is what I used.  A mix of both and already ground!)

2 Tsp. cinnamon

1/4 Tsp. ground ginger

2 Tsp. vanilla

1/4 Cup of finely chopped, 66%  Bakers Chocolate

1/4 to 1/3  Cup almond butter  (then the rest Smucker’s creamy natural peanut butter making  1/2 cup, combined)

3/4 cup light vanilla soy milk

(1/3 Cup of toasted walnuts chopped very fine, for rolling.)

(The chocolate is optional, as are the walnuts for rolling.)

005

 

Instructions:

Put all the dry ingredients together in a big bowl.  Mix until well combined.  Then add the chocolate, and mix well again.

Add the peanut butter/almond butter mixture and then vanilla soy milk.  Mix with a large spoon.

PicMonkey CollageBlog recipe.png

As it becomes more moist you should be able to pinch the mixture and it should stick together, and then you can form it into 1 inch round balls.

As you make the balls, roll them in the walnuts.  (They may not stick perfectly, you can use a little pressure when rolling.  If you add a bit more milk the mixture will be more sticky and the nuts will stick better.  I added just a touch more milk the second time,  just a little, to keep the calories what I wanted them to be.

When you are finished making them just put them into an air tight type container.

I would say they should last up to 2 weeks in the fridge.  🙂

Calories: Approx. 100 calories per energy ball.

 

I hope you try them!.  Everyone in my family has really liked them!.

 

023.png

 

 

Thanks for coming to the blog!  I really do appreciate it so much when you take time out of your day to read my latest or past posts.   🙂  I truly am appreciative for all the support!. Hey, don’t forget to leave a comment and let me know what you think of the post!.

comment blog

 

I really would like to hear it!

I know motivation for any project or idea we may have, not just a health oriented one, can be a really tough thing to find and to keep. Sometimes someone else can help!.

This is Dan Gheesling.

He is an amazing Coach, Writer, Author, Speaker, Entrepreneur and realitytv winner, as well!.

#2DanInRedShirt

Dan, was also a Teacher and high-school football coach. (He still coaches football ).

Dan now is also a coach, helping others reach their dreams and goals!. It can be really tough sometimes to find that motivation, to reach our goals, and he knows that.

Dan is such a great motivating force. He truly knows how to motivate, and most importantly, how to help you keep that motivation going!.

Sometimes we need fresh new ideas and ways to reach our goals, another voice, another opinion.

dan-blog-coaching

You can check out the testimonials on Dan’s site from those who Dan has already helped reach their goals! Hear them tell their stories and give their opinion, of Dan as a personal Coach. Hear their personal stories on how Dan helped them reach their goals and how he can help you as well.

Dan’s latest book is about Leadership.

“Clean Your Own Mirror” (which he bases his lectures on). You can see this book… and all of Dan’s books on his website!. Read and get all the information about the presentations that Dan gives to Colleges and Universities all about how to put the lessons in his new book, on how to be a better leader, to work in your life. You can also SEE him at work, in videos right on his website!. 

Watching Dan give his presentations, you can see and feel the energy Dan brings to his work, and hear why, wherever Dan gives a presentation, everyone speaks so highly of him.

(Links to reach Dan Gheesling are below)

You can get all the information needed on Dan right here:

 

http://www.DanGheesling.com/speaking

http://www.DanGheesling.com

or you can tweet him at: https://twitter.com/DanGheesling

 

You can find me, at the following places !

https://twitter.com/ColleenFKelly

https://www.facebook.com/ColleenFKelly

http://instagram.com/colleenfkelly

My other blog as well!!

Click the link to see my other blog as well! “Reach For More

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dina permalink
    March 2, 2016 1:18 PM

    These look good! I’m going to try them.

    • March 2, 2016 7:08 PM

      Hi Dina!! 🙂 Hey I promise they really are good 🙂 I also, (maybe a few more calories lol ) but dip them as I eat them in a little almond butter lol 🙂 SO GOOD! 🙂 Thanks so much for reading it!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

