Skip to content

Healthy And Super Easy Homemade Almond Butter Recipe!

March 21, 2016

#5AlmondButterpic#4#2

 

#2blog 579 (1) to be finished brwn eyes

 

 

 

 

Almond butter is one of the easiest things you will EVER make in your life and trust me, one of the most delicious!.

When I got interested in making it, I really just wanted to make it pure.  No spices.  I really just wanted to stick to that pure almond butter taste, for the first try anyway, though I did really like the taste of the one I had just bought, which had a little molasses in it.  The sugar content was very low, only 3 grams and it had such a good flavor I decided to go with that. Besides it was such a slight taste it would still be that pure flavor, for me anyway.

Some recipes said to add oil if necessary, I didn’t want to do that really.  Though when I was making it, I was so excited to do it, got impatient and added 2 TBLS. along the way.  Later when I checked on a recipe, because it was taking so long to get to that consistency I knew to be almond butter, I looked up another recipe for more information,  and for a little advice.

I then saw one that said:

“If you think it isn’t working because it’s taking so long, keep going!.  It can take about 20 mins. of processing.”

I have a feeling they were right.   It just takes a bit of time for it to get to that thin, shiny consistency.  But I think it will without oil.  I can’t say exactly how long it took in total time the processor was on.  I pulsed it and had it on and off scraping the sides and adding the oil and molasses. So if you would rather not add the oil, give it some time, or just add a little and see how it goes from there.

 

011

 

 

This recipe made one full jar 16 oz. plus about 1/2 cup extra.

 

My Recipe For Homemade Almond Butter

 

Ingredients

 

3 cups of raw almonds

 

2 TBLS. Oil      ( I used a canola oil)    I think this will be optional

 

Molasses        (I used about 1/3 of a cup in all )     I went by taste.

 

Kosher salt     I used about  1  TSP.     I went by taste.

(I used kosher salt, I use it at home, because it’s one of the lowest in sodium)

 

Directions:

Roast the almonds in a 350 degree oven for 15 to 20 minutes.  I used a regular cookie sheet, and parchment paper.  After they cool a bit, put them in a processor.   I used the metal dough blade to do it.  Mine looks like this.  I have my Mom’s processor which is slightly older, so yours might look a little different.

cuisinart-dlc-10-8-metal-chopping-dough-blades-replacement-part-food-processor-652435adb9c7638af764d475b989ca54

 

PicMonkey CollageBlogalmondbutter

 

 Toasting these nuts made the whole kitchen smell amazing! .

 

Once in the processor,  turn it on,  and let them go for a few minutes. After a few minutes, stop it and scrape down the sides.  Once the nuts are totally chopped you can start to add your salt, oil  (if desired),  and molasses, (or any spices you may choose, if any). 
Then turn it back on… and from here it’s just going to take time.  Remember, it WILL take about 15 – 20 mins. I would continue to turn it on and off and check.

 

Pic#2Monkey CollageBLOGALMONDBUTTER

 

It filled a 16.oz jar with about 1.2 cup on the side as well.  (you can see the little white ramekin in the picture I used to hold the rest of the almond butter the jar would not hold. )

Everyone really loved it.  I’m going to make more this weekend! 🙂

I hope you try this recipe.  It’s so incredibly easy and simple, takes really all in all, little time!.   The only downside might be that all nuts are expensive today. But I figured it out and it cost about $2.00 more to make it than buying a jar in the store. I paid $8.00 for the jar I had. I thought, for the amount of fun I had doing this, planning it, and sharing it on instagram   https://www.instagram.com/p/BCv5WpgCmSw/?taken-by=colleenfkelly   and on Facebook,and most of all, I have almond butter that has no preservatives or additives in it and is homemade, that extra $2.00 was really worth it.    🙂

It tasted even better the next day!.

 

030

 

 

 Thanks so much for coming to the blog!  I really do appreciate it so much when you take time out of your day to read my latest or past posts.   🙂  I truly am appreciative for all the support!. Hey, don’t forget to leave a comment and let me know what you think of the post!.

If you do decide to try this recipe, Let me know how it comes out and what you maybe added or did differently! 🙂

comment blog

 

I really would like to hear it!

I know motivation for any project or idea we may have, not just a health oriented one, can be a really tough thing to find and to keep. Sometimes someone else can help!.

This is Dan Gheesling.

He is an amazing Coach, Writer, Author, Speaker, Entrepreneur and realitytv winner, as well!.

#2DanInRedShirt

Dan, was also a Teacher and high-school football coach. (He still coaches football ).

Dan now is also a coach, helping others reach their dreams and goals!. It can be really tough sometimes to find that motivation, to reach our goals, and he knows that.

Dan is such a great motivating force. He truly knows how to motivate, and most importantly, how to help you keep that motivation going!.

Sometimes we need fresh new ideas and ways to reach our goals, another voice, another opinion.

dan-blog-coaching

You can check out the testimonials on Dan’s site from those who Dan has already helped reach their goals! Hear them tell their stories and give their opinion, of Dan as a personal Coach. Hear their personal stories on how Dan helped them reach their goals and how he can help you as well.

Dan’s latest book is about Leadership.

“Clean Your Own Mirror” (which he bases his lectures on). You can see this book… and all of Dan’s books on his website!. Read and get all the information about the presentations that Dan gives to Colleges and Universities all about how to put the lessons in his new book, on how to be a better leader, to work in your life. You can also SEE him at work, in videos right on his website!. 

Watching Dan give his presentations, you can see and feel the energy Dan brings to his work, and hear why, wherever Dan gives a presentation, everyone speaks so highly of him.

(Links to reach Dan Gheesling are below)

You can get all the information needed on Dan right here:

 

http://www.DanGheesling.com/speaking

http://www.DanGheesling.com

or you can tweet him at: https://twitter.com/DanGheesling

 

You can find me, at the following places !

https://twitter.com/ColleenFKelly

https://www.facebook.com/ColleenFKelly

http://instagram.com/colleenfkelly

My other blog as well!!

Click the link to see my other blog as well! “Reach For More

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

